Skip Navigation

Restrictive Voting Laws Enacted Since 2020 in Effect for the Midterms

Voters in 20 states are encountering new obstacles to casting their ballots this fall.

Published: October 6, 2022

The table below covers the 33 restrictive voting laws enacted in 20 states that are in effect for the midterm elections and that have not been stopped by the courts (as of September 12, 2022), organized by how their provisions impact voting. There are several provisions that are currently being litigated, and the outcome of the litigation could affect whether those provisions are in effect for the midterms.