States That Expanded Voting Since the 2012 Election

After long lines marred the 2012 election, dozens of states introduced legislation to improve access to the polls in 2013, 20142015, and 2016. Overall, laws to expand voting passed in 26 states plus the District of Columbia.

Sign up for our voting newsletter, the premier source for voting news.

States That Expanded Voting Since the 2012 Election

Last updated May 9, 2016. View a PDF version here.

Status Key: 

Expansive bill passed

More from Brennan Center: 

In advance of this crucial midterm election, this report details new voting restrictions put in place over the past few years, laws in place for the first time in 2014, and major lawsuits that could affect this year’s elections. See all our 2014 voting resources.

As the early stages of the 2016 presidential race begin, state legislatures are already considering hundreds of laws that could determine voters’ access to the ballot.