States With New Voting Restrictions Since 2010 Election

Election laws have long been prone to politicization, but the 2010 election marked a big shift. From early 2011 until the 2012 election, state lawmakers across the country introduced at least 180 restrictive voting bills in 41 states. Ultimately, 19 states passed 27 restrictive voting measures, many of which were overturned or weakened by courts, citizen-led initiatives, and the Department of Justice before the 2012 election. States continued to pass restrictions in 2013 and 2014, although to a lesser degree.

What is the cumulative effect of this legislative movement? This map details the new voting restrictions that were in place in 21 states for the 2014 midterm election. (This is down from 22, because the Arkansas photo ID law is no longer in effect after it was blocked by the state Supreme Court on October 15, 2014.) In 14 states, these restrictions were in effect for the first time in a federal election in 2014.

Sign up for our voting newsletter, the premier source for voting news.

States With New Voting Restrictions Since 2010 Election

Last updated March 25, 2015. View a PDF version here.

Status Key: 

Restriction in place for 2014

Restriction passed before 2010, or a ballot measure

More from Brennan Center: 

In advance of this crucial midterm election, this report details new voting restrictions put in place over the past few years, laws in place for the first time in 2014, and major lawsuits that could affect this year’s elections. See all our 2014 voting resources.

Increased single-party control in state capitals has accompanied a renewed push for voting restrictions at the start of the 2015 session, but there is also continued momentum around reforms to improve access to the polls.