ARIZONA

STATE LEGISLATIVE DISTRICTS

60 HOUSE SEATS

30 SENATE SEATS

WHO DRAWS THE DISTRICTS?

INDEPENDENT COMMISSION

- Five members: Commission on appellate court appointments nominates 25
 people (10 from each major party, five from neither major party); House and
 Senate majority and minority leaders each select one commissioner; those four
 commissioners select one tiebreaker not registered with the party of any of the
 four commissioners; or if they fail to do so, the commission on appellate court
 appointments appoints the fifth member
- No more than two commissioners may be from the same party
- No more than two of the first four commissioners may reside in the same county
- Commissioners can't have held, or been a candidate for, public office (except school board) within three years prior to appointment
- Commissioners must not have served as officers of a political party, as paid registered lobbyists, or as officers of a candidate's campaign committee within three years prior to appointment
- Commissioners must be registered Arizona voters who have been continuously registered with the same political party or registered as unaffiliated with a political party for three or more years immediately preceding appointment

HOW ARE DISTRICTS DRAWN?

Process

- Independent Commission draws the lines
- Draft maps are open to the public for a comment period of at least 30 days
- Three affirmative votes are required to approve a final map

State-Level Criteria

- Nest House districts in Senate districts
- Compactness
- Contiguity
- Ranked: No
- Preserve communities of interest
- Follow geographic, municipal, county, and census tract boundaries
- Favor competitive districts, except when doing so would create significant detriment to the other criteria
- Party registration and voting history data excluded from initial mapping phase but may be used to test compliance with criteria
- Cannot consider places of residence of incumbents or candidates



Public Hearings

- No redistricting-specific provisions, but there is a 30-day public-comment period
- All meetings at which business is conducted must be open to the public, with at least 48 hours' notice

Timing

• No deadline

CONGRESSIONAL DISTRICTS

9 SEATS

(through 2020). Projected after reapportionment: 10 **Process**

• Same as for state legislative districts

State-Level Criteria Same as for state legislative districts

Timing

No deadline

Click here for a version with citations