# ALASKA

# STATE LEGISLATIVE DISTRICTS

40 HOUSE SEATS



20 SENATE SEATS

## WHO DRAWS THE DISTRICTS?

#### POLITICAL APPOINTEE COMMISSION

- Political appointee commission (Redistricting Board)
- Five members: House and Senate majority leaders each select one; Governor selects two; Chief Justice selects one
- At least one commissioner must be from each of the four judicial districts
- Commissioners cannot be public employees or officials
- Party affiliation cannot be considered
- Must have lived in Alaska for at least a year

### **HOW ARE DISTRICTS DRAWN?**

#### **Process**

- Political appointee commission draws the lines
- Three affirmative votes are required to approve a final map
- State superior court will review the plan if a qualified voter petitions

## State-Level Criteria Ranked: No

- Compactness
  - Contiguity
- Preserve communities of interest, as defined by the constitution
- Nest House districts in Senate districts
- Follow geographic boundaries
- Single-member districts

# Public Hearings

Required, but details not specified

# Timing

- Draft plans must be adopted 30 days after the official reporting of census data or 30 days after the commission is appointed, whichever is later
- A final plan must be adopted 90 days after the commission has been appointed and after official reporting of census data
- Districts are effective until after reporting of next decennial census

#### **CONGRESSIONAL DISTRICTS**

SEAT

Alaska has only one congressional district (through 2020). Projected after reapportionment: No change

Click here for a version with citations

