Student Voting Guide | Nevada
This student voting guide explains the laws for the state of Nevada.
This student voting guide explains the laws for the state of Nevada. If you wish to vote from your school address, check the student voting guide for the state where you attend school. If you want to cast an absentee ballot in your home state, check the student voting guide for that state.
The Brennan Center is committed to giving students as much information as possible to help you exercise your constitutional right to vote. More than ever in recent history, changes to voting laws are being implemented in ways that can affect your ability to make your vote count. In addition to the content you will find in this Student Voting Guide, a report we issued this year documents a number of these changes and we continue to track passed and pending voting law changes here.
While we are working to give you up-to-date information, we urge you to be proactive! In order to ensure you have all the information you need before casting your vote, you should also check with your state and local election officials for information about additional requirements or regulations.
This voting guide was last updated August 15, 2014.
You can register to vote if you will be 18 by the next primary or general election and have lived in the county in which you want to vote for at least 30 days. If you have been convicted of a felony, it may impact your ability to vote. If you think you might be affected, you should contact your local election officials.
Voters who have a Nevada driver’s license or state photo ID card can register online at the Secretary of State’s website – the last day to register online for the 2014 general election is October 14.
If you are registering in person at the office of the county clerk, you can register until the third Tuesday before an election (21 days if the election is on a Tuesday). In 2014, the in-person registration deadline is October 14. You will be asked to show ID if you register in person (see Identification section below).
If you register by mail, your registration must be postmarked by the fifth Sunday before an election (30 days if the election is on a Tuesday); in 2014, the deadline is October 4. Your registration form must also be postmarked no more than ten days after you have signed and dated it. You can download and print a voter registration application here.
Before each election, you should check your registration online well before the voter deadline so you can correct any details without hassle.
At School. Students can establish residency in Nevada if they have a present intention to remain at their Nevada school address for the time being, and they intend to make it their principal home. Any other interpretation of the residency laws is unconstitutional. Students have the right to cast a ballot as a resident of Nevada regardless of whether they pay in-state or out-of-state tuition. The Secretary of State specifically indicates that college students can vote at their college address.
At Home. Students who lived in Nevada prior to attending school and who wish to establish or keep their Nevada voting residency (i.e., at their parents’ address), should have no problem doing so unless they have already registered to vote in another state. Like most states, Nevada allows students to keep their voting residency even if they move out of the county or state to attend school.
The only way you will lose this residency is if you “abandon” it by asserting residency in a new state. While registering to vote in another state is not automatically considered an abandonment of residency in Nevada, some judges or officials might view it as such. If you have established residency in another state and are moving back to Nevada with the intent to reside here, you will have to follow the normal registration procedures to re-register at home.
Challenges to Residency. Any voter who is registered in your precinct can challenge your eligibility to vote based on residency within a short window of time before an election. In order to do so, they must file a challenge in writing between the thirtieth day and twenty-fifth days before an election. The challenge must be based on personal knowledge and multiple voters cannot be challenged at once. Notice of the challenge will be mailed to you within five days; if you fail to respond within 30 days, your registration will be cancelled. The county clerk will also notify the district attorney of the challenge. The district attorney’s office will investigate and if it decides that you are not a resident for voting purposes, they may start court proceedings to cancel your registration.
Your eligibility to vote based on residency can only be challenged at the polls by a voter registered at the precinct who has personal knowledge of your non-residency. If you are challenged, you will have to swear an oath that you live at your registration address,  and you will have to provide identification that has your address on it (a voter registration card is not enough). You may also be challenged based on a claim that you are not the person whom you claim to be. You will then have to swear an oath that you are the person you claim to be and provide a photo ID or someone else with photo ID who can attest to your identity to be issued with a ballot.
Nevada requires first-time voters who register by mail or by computer and whose driver’s license number, non-driver ID number, or Social Security number cannot be matched to existing records to provide ID at the polls. You can present this ID either when you register, or when you vote in person or by absentee ballot.
Acceptable forms of ID include current and valid photo ID—including Nevada driver’s licenses or non-driver’s ID cards—or a current utility bill, bank statement, paycheck, or government document that shows your name and address.
Nevada is a no-fault absentee state—you do not need a reason for voting absentee. Your application for an absentee ballot must be received by 5 p.m. on the seventh day before the election. Contact your county clerk’s office for an application. If you live in Clark county, you can apply for an absentee ballot at the Clark County elections website.
Your completed absentee ballot must be received by your county clerk by the close of polls on Election Day to be counted. If you are a first-time voter who registered by mail, you must include a copy of a valid form of identification with your absentee ballot application or your ballot.
As a convenience to voters, Nevada has early voting beginning on the 3rd Saturday before an election and ending on the Friday before Election Day. At early voting sites, you can vote any precinct’s ballot for that county. You should check with your county elections office for the exact dates, times, and locations for early voting.
Last Updated August 15, 2014
 Nev. Rev. Stat. § 293.485(2).
 Nev. Rev. Stat. § 293.485(1).
 Nev. Rev. Stat. § 293.560(6)(b).
 Nev. Rev. Stat. § 293.560.
 Nev. Rev. Stat. § 293.517(1)(a).
 Nev. Rev. Stat. § 293.560(6) (after the fifth Sunday before an election, you can only register in person or online), 293.5235(7) (when you mail-in your registration, you deemed to be registered on the postmark date).
 Nev. Rev. Stat. § 293.5235(15).
 See Dunn v. Blumstein, 405 U.S. 330, 330 (1972); Williams v. Salerno, 792 F.2d 323, 328 (2d Cir. 1986).
 See College Voter Information, Nev. Sec’y of State, http://nvsos.gov/index.aspx?page=223 (Q: May a college student register and vote from his or her school address in Nevada? A: You may choose to register using your current campus home address.).
 Nev. Rev. Stat. § 293.497 (family domicile can be personal domicile even if one does business in another state).
 Nev. Rev. Stat. § 293.487(2).
 Nev. Rev. Stat. § 293.493 (“If a person removes to another state, territory or foreign country, with the intention of establishing his or her domicile there, the person thereby loses his or her residence in this State.”)
 Nev. Rev. Stat. § 293.547.
 Nev. Rev. Stat. § 293.547(1).
 Nev. Rev. Stat. § 293.547(2).
 Nev. Rev. Stat. § 293.547(5)(b); Nev. Rev. Stat. § 293.530(7).
 Nev. Rev. Stat. § 293.547(5)(c).
 Nev. Rev. Stat. § 293.547(6).
 Nev. Rev. Stat. § 293.303(1)(b).
 Nev. Rev. Stat. § 293.303(2)(c).
 Nev. Rev. Stat. § 293.303(7).
 Nev. Rev. Stat. § 293.303(1)(a).
 Nev. Rev. Stat. § 293.303(8).
 Nev. Rev. Stat. § 293.2725(2).
 Nev. Rev. Stat. § 293.2725(2).
 Nev. Rev. Stat. § 293.2725(2).
 Nev. Rev. Stat. § 293.313.
 Nev. Rev. Stat. § 293.315(1).
 Nev. Rev. Stat. § 293.317.
 Nev. Rev. Stat. § 293.2725(1)(b).
 Nev. Rev. Stat. § 293.3568(1).